This Weekend in LGBT TV: ‘House of Cards’ season 3 release, ‘Looking’ & ‘OITNB’ news

Friday:

Friday brought the release of Netflix’s Emmy-winning series, House of Cards, and successfully stole my weekend in the process.

 

I spent three hours on Friday watching the first few episodes, and from 9 p.m. Saturday night until 7 a.m. Sunday morning finishing the season.

Don’t tell me that I don’t have a life. I already know that.

So with a new season surely comes an analysis of it. My thoughts in regards to the LGBT side of the show are as follows (SPOILERS are imminent):

  1. Are we never going to talk about that threesome between Frank, Claire, and Meechum? Like, ever? No? Okay. That’s cool. Keepin’ it casual. I get it.
  2. No Lisa and Rachel reunion? And by the end of the season one of them is dead? Boo.
  3. The flirtation between Frank and writer Tom Yates brings me mixed emotions.
  4. Bringing back Frank’s college bae, Tim, was a delightful and welcome surprise. More please!
  5. Claire standing up to Russian President Petrov — cough, Putin, cough — after a gay rights activist killed himself was a highlight of the season.
  6. As were the end credits of episode three, which featured a Pussy Riot music video with pride flags galore.

Thoughts on all other aspects:

  1. Claire’s fashion game is as strong as ever.
  2. I was, and still remain, upset that Doug is not dead after Rachel’s attack on him last season.
  3. Gavin lying about being HIV+ to get information is the lowest of the low.
  4. Not enough Meechum.
  5. Too much Remy.
  6. The cinematography on that show continues to be so beautiful it hurts.

Best line of the season:

“I should have never made you President.” — Claire Underwood

Sunday:

The conclusion of the weekend came with a new episode of one of my favorites: Looking.

It focused on the best-friendship between Doris and Dom and was truly beautiful (Insert comment about how they remind me of me and my best friend here).

Although, my poor little heart was overwhelmed when at the end my favorite, Kevin, turned up out of the blue uninvited and revealed to Patrick that he (finally) broke up with his boyfriend and wants to be with him:

sohappyrn

I’m way too invested and I care way too much; I’ll admit that. But I was so pumped.

Today (Monday):

Though not technically the weekend anymore, I’d be remiss if I did not mention the announcement of the return of Netflix’s Orange is the New Black this June.

With Netflix promising fans more Alex, no Larry, and more of our favorite side characters, (I’m looking at you, Poussey and Sophia) how can anybody not be excited for the return of this hit?

Leave a Reply

